The weather has been beautiful this past week and I'm feeling great with it.
I'll preface this entire thing by telling a quick story. I went to my Financial Aid counselor who in no certain terms told me that if I returned to Guilford, I would have to sell my soul on the black market first. Okay, maybe she didn't say that, but that's how I took it. So on the walk back from the New Garden building to my dorm, while I called my mom crying, I made a decision. This decision was hard for me, the hardest I've probably ever made, but it was the best choice.
I will not be a Quaker next year. On May 6th, I bid adieu to my education as a GuilCo Quaker and resign myself to being a glorified visitor next year. I will be going to CVCC (Catawba Valley Community College, yo) and living with my parents. Hopefully I'll be working with my sister too. If not, I'm still going to get a job. Then, the next year, I'll transfer to a four year STATE school.
After I decided not to come back to Guilford (but I'm visiting every three weeks if I can swing it!), I don't know. It seemed as if I was lifted a little bit. It's every bit heartbreaking when I walk on the campus and realize I can't do this every day next year, but I don't know. I'm a little more carefree now. Because at least for next year, I won't have to worry about my dad paying an arm and a leg for my education.
With this is the knowledge that I'm going to be doing something REALLY great on May 1st. I'm doing the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. It's a 5k walk (because I definitely cannot do the run) and I've been working out for it a lot lately.
Also! I took my Quantitative Literacy exam on Wednesday. There were 36 questions and to pass, you were allowed to miss 15. Now math has never been my strong suit so I was prepared to miss 14, maybe even 15. I usually pass by the seat of my pants anyways. But something miraculous happened. I only missed 7! And I was the first one finished! It was AMAZING!
I don't know, this is a very random post because I'm actually in the middle of doing homework and preparing to do CAB stuff and it's just a really weird day. But it's beautiful outside. :]]
Thanks for reading!
Thursday, April 8, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment