Sunday, March 21, 2010

Spring Break, Serendipity, and the good life.

So let's break down my past few weeks, shall we? This is going to be a longer post, so if you just wanna skim it, I won't blame you.

Spring Break:
As anyone with two brain cells can deduce, there was alcohol involved. In fact, I probably won't post a lot of the photos to Facebook because what happens in Virginia Beach damn well better stay in Virginia Beach, haha. We didn't drink every night (and by we, I mean me) but we played a lot of fun drinking games (with non-alcoholic drinks for me and usually one other person at some point in the night) and cards. We also watched a bunch of movies. To be honest, the trip was a complete success.

The beach was beautiful too (at the Bay and the actual beach). There were a few days of beautiful weather that we could enjoy the beach without freezing to death but the last few days were rainy. That was okay though, because we still had a lot of fun. I went with four friends; Kara, Peach, Maddie, and Garrett. We had a lot of fun and having two cars meant we didn't all have to do the same thing. It was great and I'm glad that I went.

Serendipity:
This is something that you have to go through to understand. For the students of Guilford, it's a time to hang out in good Spring weather (as it appears to never have had a poor-weathered Serendipity) and enjoy the events that are planned for the weekend. Yes there is drinking and smoking that is not condoned during the events but we can't stop what people do in the privacy of their rooms or the woods. So the students of Guilford enjoy that weekend. For the CAB members (like myself), it is called HELL. We have busted our asses since January to get everything in order for this one weekend, two days, for the best experience for everyone.

For the most part, this weekend was absolutely amazing. The carnival was pretty awesome, people enjoyed the dance party (until the DJs started drinking and it was canceled), a lot of people went to see Alain Nu. And that was just Friday. Saturday started at noon with a street fair with music and vendors and face painting. There was jello wrestling sponsored by the men's rugby team and that was (gross but) a lot of fun to watch. There was rock climbing and a slip-n-slide, a battle of the bands all on the street to get everyone involved.

Then came the main part of Serendipity; the concert. The battle of the bands winner (Mixed Signals, a cutesy folk band) played for a while and then Molly Marlette, an adorable singer/song writer played. Then the main band, Man Man. During the voting for bands, because CAB is about concensus and equality, we had a lot of problems with Man Man. They weren't on the provided list but majority of the campus wanted them so we felt obligated in getting them. They went to drink in their hotel. We should have known it would go downhill from there.

The students were causing problems with trying to bring beverages onto the field where we were having the concert. It had been advertised that there would be free water and other drinks inside, but no outside beverages were allowed. People still snuck alcohol in somehow. People also snuck pot in. Then when Man Man came on, the crowd started to mosh (where people start thrashing about to the music and hurting the people around them, all in good fun, right?). People were getting injured, and badly. Erin, the woman above CAB, our co-presidents Justin and Morgaine, and Justin's younger brother Drake (as well as a few SHOWPROs and event staff) went to the stage to ask the band if they could announce that people should settle down, the lead singer refused to let them have the microphone.

With that in mind, we stopped letting people into the venue. This caused our people, CAB, to get yelled at and cussed at and swung at. Yes, I was almost punched in the face last night. Good times all around, right? But atleast I wasn't hit. The same can't be said for our co-president Justin. Justin was trying to stop a drunken student from stealing one of the Public Safety golf carts (which has become a pasttime for drunken students, and driving them into the lake). Said drunken student punched Justin, then proceeded for the rest of the night to try to continue into the venue, even though we told him he was on the no-go list. Justin is pressing charges.

The good life:
So besides Serendipity being awesome and yet still a bit of a disaster, it was still pretty great. I went to the olds (old apartments) last night where there were so many people partying that people couldn't all fit in the apartments, they were packed with anywhere from fifty to one hundred people outside of one building. The rule at the olds is that as long as you are on the porch, you can't be called out for underage drinking. I don't know how this rule came about, but it's there. So people were trying their damnedest to get on the porch to drink.

Hall Directors and Resident Advisors and even the Associate Dean for Resident Life (among many members of Public Safety) were all standing out there, ready to catch people for drinking. I was drinking water (I'm on substance free so if I'm caught drinking, I get kicked out) and the RAs knew it so I was okay, just enjoying the music. Plus, I was watching out for the 17 year old prospective student that had been helping CAB out all day. He was pretty cool, I hope he comes here when he is able.

After that, and before that, and a little while during that, I was fighting with my best friend here, Maddie. Not really fighting as much as explaining why I was hurt with how she was acting around me. I won't go into detail with that, but we've decided to work on our friendship. First order of business was going across the street today to go to lunch together.

On a different note, Shanon and I spent a lot of time together this weekend. Okay, we were working for most of it, but we spent a lot of time together. We got into a bit of a fight on Friday night and it snowballed from there for a while, but we worked it out by Saturday night so we shared a slow dance in the parking lot during a slow song. It was sweet. He wanted me to join him at a bonfire in the meadows but I really didn't have the strength to continue. That sounds melodramatic, but I had been awake since seven AM and had only gone to sleep at six AM that morning anyways so one hour of sleep and then fourteen hours of hardcore work meant that I was pretty tired.

I FOUND A ROOMMATE! Kind of. The deal is, Silvana and I are going to be roommates in the hall of her choosing (Shore, an all girl dorm) unless she (or I, but that won't happen) find another roommate. We met this semester and get along well enough, haven't had any problems. If we become roommates, I think that it will work out very well. Better than say, perhaps, my roommate situation right now. Rooming with a girl I've known for 10 years might have been a bad idea, haha.

I'm sure there are a million more things I could write about but I have homework and a lot of rest on my plate for tonight, so I'm going to focus on those first. I'll try to post again soon, I know it's been a while since my last post. Be safe.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

It's been a busy week.

This week has felt SO long and it's only Wednesday. With my upcoming trip (going to Virginia Beach with some of my friends for Spring Break), I guess it is normal for it to feel like time keeps stopping randomly.

For anyone that has seen my Facebook statuses recently and noticed that I'm on a roommate hunt, I'm stressed. If I don't find a roommate, I'll be put in the lottery and roomed with someone that I most likely won't get along with AND I won't be in the building that I want to be. Yes, yes, I'm stressed.

I have had one offer for a roommate, but that won't happen. It was Shanon. It was said jokingly while we were breaking down the relaxation therapy event we had today (oooh it really worked too). Of course this made me giddy because it meant that he sees us possibly together next year but it also made me sad because he followed it by saying "You know, if I'm not in Austrailia." I had forgotten that he wants to go abroad next semester...

We're doing good, in case you were wondering. We aren't really trying to be public with whatever it is we have but it's not like we're hiding one another. If we see each other around campus, we say hi, we hug, he rests his hand on my back. But we're not playing tonsil hockey or holding hands and giving each other bedroom eyes. We've got more class than that. Besides, we want to keep it semi-quiet until we know what "it" is. A relationship? We both think so, but we want to wait.

He invited me to Florida with him for Spring Break but yea, we're not at that level in our relationship yet.

Brief announcement, Milner has bed bugs. Yes, yes, I know, ew. Milner is the dorm I live in too. So even though we're not sure if my room is infested, I still scratch more than normal. Gotta love being paranoid.

My roommate is buying me diet green tea with citrus right now. Well, with my money. I'm thankful because I've been having withdrawls. You know, because I haven't had any since Monday. Too long. Haha.

I am putting myself on a diet after Spring Break (because alcohol calories would kill me otherwise). I've already kinda started it. I drink a lot of water (and now diet green tea... hmm) and I haven't drank soda (without alcohol in it) in MONTHS. I'm moving from chicken tenders and cheeseburgers to salads and pastas and sandwiches. I'm going to try it for a month, from March 15th to April 15th, and see how it goes. I know that I'll drink a few times (at least on the weekend of the 19th and 20th, and I'll explain why in another post) and I'm sure I'll fall off the bandwagon and gorge myself on a cookie (or three), but I'm going to try to do that. On top, I'm going to be exercising. I know, crazy, eh? With my back pains that I've gotten recently and my random knee pains, I'm going to be doing a little at a time but still enough. Wish me luck!

I took my midterms (or most of them) and I'm almost done before Spring Break. Here's a quick look at my schedule for the rest of this week.

Thursday; CAB office hours from 12 to 1, lunch with Shanon around 1, midterm for my French Revolution class from 2:30 to 3:45, and then packing.
Friday; Finishing packing, Web of Europe class from 11:30 to 12:45, and then packing up the car(s) and heading towards the horizon... or the state line, technically.

It's gonna be a blast. Tan cue for reading, I'm off to study and sleep... or something.